Insert original blog here…Top 10 Games of 2015!

Hey all, it’s been a long time since my last article. Christmas and struggling with lack of sleep will do that to you; and I wish I was more active for it. Never mind, I’m back now, and semi-refreshed!  For the last blog of 2015, here is my list of the top 10 games of 2015! A couple of rules for this:

  1. Has to be games I’ve played this year, which have come out in 2015. That means games which were released last year of another year which I’ve only picked up this year, even if some are amazing, cannot be on this list. That means you, Kerbal Space Program, Dragon Age Inquisition and This War of Mine! That also means I don’t care much if you guys go “WHAT ABOUT THE NEW 200TH CALL OF DUTY? HAS TO BE THAT! No. Didn’t play it, so not on my list. (Nor would it ever be on my list….)
  2. This is my own personal list. Everyone has their own preference.
  3. My criteria is how much I ENJOYED playing the game, not graphics or other professional opinions etc etc. Enjoyment is what matters ultimately.

 

Here we go! Welcome to Part 1, Part 2 will be up on New Years Day!

10) Mad Max

I didn’t know what to expect from this mishmash of an open world combat sandbox game, but it surprised me in how…fun it was? Driving around the huge desert world (Which looked pretty damn nice to boot!), fighting in your car in a mad, sloppy yet enjoyable combat style, scavenging everywhere for scraps, there was a lot to do. Sure, not all of it was polished amazingly, and it reminded me a lot of Far Cry 4 in the amount of mediocre shit to do, but I was pretty addicted for a while. Good game overall, and a lot of fun.

 

9) Dying Light

If I had a quid for every “Zombie Survival open world game” which has come out on Steam or is on EA, I’d be a very rich man. Seriously guys, stop making these games. But this was much better than I was expecting. I loved the parkour system, and running around in the dark was generally scary. The game isn’t amazing, but it isn’t bad either, and I genuinely enjoyed it. Hated the story though. I won’t lie, I played it to kill zombies and jump around the big city, and it did that very well.

 

8) Fallout 4.

Bethesda. Bethesda never changes. Wow this hype when it got announced, and for good reason, I was stoked. And when it came out I was a little….underwhelmed? It lacked a lot of the amazing RPG elements from Fallout 3 and New Vegas, to be sure, and the dialogue options were GOD AWFUL. Bethesda, you screwed up on this. Don’t do this for TES6, please. Even so, I can’t fault them too much on this, as the Fallout series under Bethesda is usually meant to be an open world TPS with RPG elements. I just wish they added more RPG elements to this. Still, I had a lot of fun, and there’s so much to do. The good outweighs the bad in this game for sure. and I can’t wait to see what mods come out in the coming year.

7) Mount and Blade, Viking Conquest

This was a surprise to me. I didn’t expect them to release a mod-based version, but as Warband is one of the best games ever made (Expect a long post on this soon!) I gave it a shot. It was a bit buggy at launch, but when it got fixed, I had a lot of fun. Expect all the open worldness of Mount and Blade Warband, but with an immersive quest line which takes HOURS to complete, a much stronger world which made me care about the people within and a lot more in-depth gameplay. Great improvement overall.

6) The Age of Decadence.

A game like Baldur’s Gate/Pillars but as hard as Darksouls? Sign me up! This game is great. Quite expensive, and has a HORRIBLE learning curve, you’ll die a lot, and often I had no idea what the hell I was doing. But a solid, living and breathing world in which I cared about the characters, great dialogue and you had to think. You’re no superhero in this game. If you mess up or act funny, you will die, and there isn’t much you can do to stop it. But I love RPG’s like this. You need to be careful, and this was a great release. 

That’s all for now, but the top 5 is a great list which I think you guys will enjoy 😉 Can you guess my top 5?

Leave a Reply

