Codex of Randomness: November 2016…NANO! Games! Writing advice, oh my!

Haven’t made one of these in a good while, most of my blogs have been author interviews lately. In fact, for the past 3-4 months, nearly all of them have been. As enjoyable as it is, I do still want to talk about the stuff I’ve been doing too, so here it is! I thought it would be nice to go back to basics for a bit. I’ve had so much planned for the blog, and yet I am struggling to get out even one article a week. Apologies for that. I’ll keep to the current plans and see what I can do with it, most of which I’m happy to just keep going as long as people want it. I have a couple of author interviews left. If any author would like an interview, contact me and I’ll be happy to send the document. This is something I love doing because we’re all writers, and writers should help each other out!

This will just be a small round-up of many different things that have happened the past few weeks. Nothing too heavy mainly because I can’t be arsed with such stuff, but I haven’t made a personal round-up blog in a good while, at least a few weeks. So expect to listen to me prattle on for the next half hour! Muhahahahaha….. anyway. Onto my summary.

NaNoWriMo 2016

I did something huge this year. By day 10, I managed to hit 50,000 words! That is almost unimaginable to me to be honest, so I feel great about managing it. On a good week, I can kick out 20,000 words maybe (16,000 words has been my previous record). I have been focusing on three major projects this year for NaNoWrimo….before I do so, here was my goals for Q4 2016.

  1. Finish The Thousand Scars and hopefully prepare it for publication by the Q1 of 2017. Not guaranteed, but  I feel confident I can finish it this time. Watch this space….that’s all I’m saying.
  2. Complete the 1st draft of the Aegis Mora by either the end of 2016, or Q1 2017. This may not be doable, but it’s a realistic target. 54k and seven chapters have been finished thus far out of a projected eighteen. There is a lot happening for this book.
  3. Have the 1st draft of my dystopian fantasy novel Turning The Page complete by the end of 2016. This is a pet project of mine, set in the western continent of my world Rengar. Here is a WIP map of the world thus far to share, called Uldur.

 

map-14

Those were my main three projects. Nanowrimo has me doing Turning the Page, The Aegis Mora and the lore of my world, and up until now it worked. Turning the Page however I decided to turn into a series, so I’ve been writing chapters non-chronologically for that. Not sure what I’ll do for the last two weeks, but hopefully I can further my word count. Here is some little nuggets of advice for all my friends doing Nano 2016.

  1. Don’t edit. This is about speed. Don’t worry if the first draft is crap, all drafts are. If you believe it’s good, that’s your self-perfection talking. Get rid of that fast. In December/however long it takes for you to get your work done, use that time for editing and polishing. Polish Polish Polish!
  2. Everything you write is relevant. Explore your characters, ask them questions. Ask them about the world, write it down. It all counts, and it’ll make your world a lot more believable.
  3. Try and write every day, even if it’s 10 minutes. Any word count is better than none. If 50k is too much, set your own personal goal ❤
  4. Finally, when you’ve finished your novel at the end. Please, I repeat. PLEASE do not rush it out into publication for the “honor” of being published! So many people, mainly self-published, do this trap and fall right into it. It takes a lot of effort and money to get your work out there, edited to the best it can be. Don’t rush it, for your sake and readers. I’ve seen so many books come out shortly after Nano finishes which are badly edited, formatted and frankly lazily pumped out because people make the mistake of thinking it’s the easy part. There are no shortcuts!

I sound a bit harsh with the last comment I know, but trust me. It will do you a world of good, and your readers. Next, onto games! My other pet project in my life.

  1. I started Tyranny, the new game by Obsidian. So far, the worldbuilding and roleplaying strengths of the game is really impressive, and I’ve been hammering into the character, a world where evil wins. *grins* The combat does seem a bit repetitive, but that doesn’t really bother me. I’ll have a review for this when I’m a bit further into the game.
  2. Planet Coaster comes out tomorrow. My golly I want to play this! However, I don’t want to order it on release out of the worry it will be shit. Too often we have been burnt by poorly optimized crap coming out on PC…..not like…
  3. Dishonored II. Yeah. This was a bit disappointing. Bethesda really doesn’t change. The game itself is decent, but it performs like shit. Now, I’m going to hold judgment on this game, at least until they patch it. But for now, it was a little aggravating. If they can fix the performance problems, then I’ll favour this game certainly. But for now, hold off on buying it yet.
  4. Skyrim SE came out a couple of weeks ago. So far, the number of mods ported to it has been impressive, and performance actually looks like it could be vastly superior to Old Skyrim. However, until SKSE etc come out, I will be holding off on playing this game.

 

That’s it for now, just a short update to how things are going. I’m aiming for 70,000 words at least to finish off NanoWrimo 2016, and I hopefully will return shortly with a new author interview, this time with the talented Adam Reese…. Watch this space!

Leave a Reply

