Just a short New Year’s post….

It’s been just over a year since I started my blog. A huge thanks to everybody who’s read and enjoyed it ^^ This is just a short end of year article. The final part of my Top 10 games of 2016 will be up in a couple of days, I’ve been very busy.

So. 2016. No, it’s not the year’s fault that it’s been “bad,” stop blaming it. Time is not a flipping person. Okay? Good. 😛 Now, here is my annual End of Year Post.

 
It has been a strange mix, this year. Some parts have been quite bad and some very good, but I can overall say it has been a good year! But more on this soon.
 
2016 has been interesting. Healthwise, I’d love to say it got better…but it hasn’t, only gotten worse. The Chronic fatigue hasn’t gone away no matter what I’ve attempted to try and improve it, and it’s affected every part of my life in ways I didn’t expect. Even worse, my depression and anxiety hit new lows this year, but at the time of writing this post, things have stabilized. Certain writing dramas did make it flare up horribly, but on account of the amazing things which happened afterward, means I couldn’t care less what happened then. 🙂
 
But that is only the bad things of the year. Writing wise, I have only good to say. Yes, yes, I know. I know what people are going to ask me; it’s been another year Michael, why the fuck haven’t we got it yet, or why isn’t it published? I know the drill….Simply, it hasn’t been finished until now. However, it has been finished. Even better…..I have already mentioned this several times, but I can officially say in 2017, I will be a published author! Yes, Nordland Publishing will be taking Book one of my Counterbalance Series, and the four-year long dream will become a reality. But it’s not going to stop there. I have a fantasy realm to share with the world.
 
I’ve had several eye-openers in writing this year, and during periods of writer’s block during the earlier months of 2016 and the more severe fatigue I’ve also been putting pen to paper and coming up with countless other ideas for stories, so that is another good thing for further down the line. Overall, except a couple of bad experiences with writing groups/persons, I have built up a pretty cool platform, and met some amazing people through it. Going into 2017, I feel I have made such progress on my writing ability over the past year, and I feel that shows in my own works. Indeed, I’m working on an entirely new fantasy series alongside Counterbalance, and with my map making/fantasy world-building commissions, hopefully I can take that through into 2017.
 
Now, here is a little tale of why I decided to take up writing as my path. 
 
That takes me back to 2012 during a difficult time period in my life. I had just been diagnosed with depression, and times were hard. I turned to reading fantasy and decided “I can do this surely? Even me?” It has been a hard journey, at times crippling with the resurgence of problems with my mental health, as well as learning how to live with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. It is still a struggle, but with the help of my incredible family, friends and my stunning girlfriend Vicky, it is a journey I am happy to fight with.
 
Shoutouts…..too many to count 😛
 
Happy New Year everybody (In 7 hours roughly when this post goes live) 😛
Leave a Reply

